Shishikan Dojo

Shorinjiryu Koshinkai Karatedo

Koshinkai Leadership

Chief Instructors

Kyoshi Jim Griffin, 8th Dan, is the joint chief instructor. Kyoshi Jim runs the Seiryukan dojo on Bribie Island, and oversees all dojos in Queensland. Kyoshi Jim has recently been appointed to the position of Vice President of the Shinzen Kyokai for the Asia/Pacific Pacific region. Kyoshi Jim enjoys the study of the Japanese sword as an adjunct to his karate training.

Kyoshi Max Estens, 8th Dan,

Joint chief instructor. Kyoshi Max trains at the Kensuukan Dojo in Coonabarabran, NSW oversees the dojos in NSW and Victoria. Kyoshi Max is well versed in the “soft” aspects of Shorinjiryu, and enjoys inflicting non-lethal pain through locks, holds and pressure points.


Senior Advisory Council

The Senior Advisory Council for Shorinjiryu Koshinkai Karatedo Australia provides advice and support for the Chief Instructors. The Senior Advisory Council comprises:

Hanshi Myron Lubitsch

9th Dan, Shorinjiryu Kenryukan Karate
Chief Instructor, Shorinjiryu Kenryukan Karate, Brooklyn, NY, USA
President, International Shorinjiryu Shinzen Kyokai

Kyoshi Lesley Griffin

7th Dan, Shorinjiryu Koshinkai Karatedo
Senior Instructor, Seiryukan Dojo, Bribie Island, Qld
National Secretary, Australian Shorinjiryu Karatedo Association Inc


Kyoshi Des Paroz

7th Dan, Shorinjiryu Koshinkai Karatedo
Senior Instructor, Kengokan Dojo, Hunters Hill, NSW
National President, Australian Shorinjiryu Karatedo Association Inc

Shihan Graeme Bowden

6th Dan, Shorinjiryu Koshinkai Karatedo
Former World Koshiki Karate Champion





Elections for executive positions are held annually at the AGM of the Association.

The National Executive Committee for the 2022-2023 year for the Australian Shorinjiryu Karatedo Association Inc is made up of the following individuals.

National President:                 Kyoshi Des Paroz
Vice President:                         Shihan Tony Fletcher
Treasurer:                                 Kyoshi Jim Griffin
National Secretary:                 Kyoshi Lesley Griffin
Councillors:                              Kyoshi Max Estens
                                                      Renshi Dean McKernan
                                                      Tasshi Leanne Sippel